African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty / Treaty of Pelindaba (1996)


Multilateral agreement signed by 49 of the 53 members of the Organization of African Unity. Pledges not to conduct research on, develop, test, or stockpile nuclear explosive devices; prohibits the stationing of nuclear devices on their territory; maintains the highest standards of protection of nuclear materials, facilities, and equipment; and prohibits the dumping of radioactive waste.

The treaty establishes an African Commission on Nuclear Energy. The five nuclear states--the United States, C.I.S., France, Britain, and China - pledged their cooperation by signing two protocols attached to the treaty.

Madagascar and Seychelles abstained, and Somalia and Liberia were not in attendance because of internal unrest. The treaty was opened for signature on April 11, 1996.